Justify Wins Kentucky Derby, Preakness, Belmont and the Triple Crown

justify wins triple crown
Justify, ridden by the 52-year-old jockey Mike Smith sailed across the finish line on Saturday to capture the 150th Belmont Stakes and become the 13th Triple Crown winner.

Justify, a Kentucky bred thoroughbred, completed the mile and a half on a fast track in 2 minutes 28.18 seconds to become the second undefeated Triple Crown champion, along with Seattle Slew in 1977.

Gronkowski, in a bit of a surprise, finished second (and paid $13.80 to place), while Hofburg was third.

More about Justify:

Justify became the thirteenth American Triple Crown winner in 2018. He first attracted attention with an impressive win in his first start on February 18, 2018, followed up by two more victories, including the Grade I Santa Anita Derby, to qualify for the 2018 Kentucky Derby. Justify then won that race, the 2018 Preakness Stakes, and the 2018 Belmont Stakes to win the Triple Crown.

He is only the second horse to win the Triple Crown with an undefeated record, following Seattle Slew. Justify is descended from Seattle Slew, Secretariat, Count Fleet and War Admiral, all of whom also won the Triple Crown. Of the 13 Triple Crown winners, Justify is the first who did not race as a two-year-old.

In the history of the Triple Crown, 13 horses have won all three races: Sir Barton (1919), Gallant Fox (1930), Omaha (1935), War Admiral (1937), Whirlaway (1941), Count Fleet (1943), Assault (1946), Citation (1948), Secretariat (1973), Seattle Slew (1977), Affirmed (1978), American Pharoah (2015), and Justify (2018).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.