Oklahoma Sooners Quarterback Kyler Murray 2018 Heisman Trophy

Kyler Murray Oklahoma

Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray has received the most prestigious honor in college football… The Heisman Trophy.

Kyler Murray, quarterback for the Oklahoma Sooners was named the country’s top college football player in what could be his final season playing the sport.

Murray, who threw for over 4,000 yards and 40 touchdowns for Oklahoma this season, won the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night in New York over fellow quarterbacks Tua Tagovailoa of Alabama and Dwayne Haskins of Ohio State.


Murray has another season of eligibility remaining and is also considered a potential first-round pick in the NFL draft, he has said he is prepared to give up football to focus on baseball, after the Oakland Athletics selected him ninth overall in this year’s Major League Baseball draft. Full story here

The Heisman Memorial Trophy Award (usually known colloquially as the Heisman Trophy or The Heisman), is awarded annually to the most outstanding player in college football in the United States whose performance best exhibits the pursuit of excellence with integrity. Winners epitomize great ability combined with diligence, perseverance, and hard work. It is presented by the Heisman Trophy Trust in early December before the postseason bowl games.

Heisman Trophy Winners

The award was created in 1935 for the “most valuable football player in the East” by the Downtown Athletic Club. After the death of the Club’s athletic director, John Heisman, the award was named in his honor and broadened to include players west of the Mississippi. Heisman had been active in college athletics as a football player; a head football, basketball, and baseball coach; and an athletic director. It is the oldest of several overall awards in college football, including the Maxwell Award, Walter Camp Award, and the AP Player of the Year. The Heisman and the AP Player of the Year honor the most outstanding player, while the Maxwell and Walter Camp awards recognize the best player, and the Archie Griffin Award recognizes the most valuable player.