Preakness Stakes

Preakness Stakes 2014 California Chrome Wins Video

Congratulations to California Chrome Winner of the 2014 Preakness Stakes

All eyes now turn to Belmont Park as Kentucky Derby and Preakness winner California Chrome attempts to become the 12th horse to win the Triple Crown and first since 1978 when Affirmed won the Super Bowl of Horse Racing.

 Preakness Stakes Related Archives

Kentucky Derby Trivia

The Preakness

Oxbow Preakness Stakes Winner 2013

2009 Preakness Rachel Alexandra Filly Wins

The Preakness Stakes:  The second race in the quest for the “Triple Crown”

The Preakness Stakes is an American flat thoroughbred horse race held on the third Saturday in May each year at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland. It is a Grade I race run over a distance of 9.5 furlongs (1 3/16 miles) on dirt. Colts and geldings carry 126 pounds (57 kg); fillies 121 lb (55 kg). It is the second leg of the US Triple Crown, following the Kentucky Derby and followed by the Belmont Stakes.

First run in 1873, the Preakness Stakes was named by a former Maryland Governor after a winning colt at Pimlico. The race has been termed “The Run for the Black-Eyed Susans” because a blanket of yellow flowers altered to resemble the Maryland State flower is placed around the winner’s neck. Attendance at the Preakness Stakes ranks second in North America only trailing the Kentucky Derby.

The 139th running of The Preakness Stakes will take place on Saturday, May 17th, 2014 for a purse of $1,500,000.

Preakness Stakes :Trivia

Place: Pimlico Race Course, Baltimore, Maryland
Nickname: The Middle Jewel of the Triple Crown
Inaugural Year: 1873
Official Flower: Black-eyed Susan (Maryland’s state flower)
Theme Song: “Maryland, My Maryland”
Official Drink: Black-eyed Susan (not Maryland’s state beverage, which is milk!)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

html hit counter