Tag Archives: Kentucky Derby

2015 Kentucky Derby American Pharoah Wins

American Pharoah wins 141st Kentucky Derby

Highly touted favorite American Pharoah, whose Egyptian-born owner had been a recent runner-up three times in the Kentucky Derby, lived up to the hype Saturday and won the 141st running of the Derby.

The winning time for the 1 1/4 mile race was 2:03.02 in front of a record crowd of 170,513.

Now it’s on to the May 16 Preakness in Baltimore. We’ll see if American Pharoah has a shot to become the first Triple Crown winner since 1978.

American Pharoah wins 141st Kentucky Derby

Kentucky Derby Winner American Pharoah

After all the pageantry, fashion, glamor, glitz  and hype, the 141st Kentucky Derby winner was crowned Saturday at Churchill Downs.

American Pharoah won the 141st Kentucky Derby on Saturday, ridden by last year’s Derby-winning jockey, Victor Espinoza. The 5-2 favorite was in contention at the top of the stretch and pulled clear at the finish for his fifth win in six starts.

The 2015 Kentucky Derby, held Saturday under clear skies and the twin spires of Churchill Downs in Louisville.

American Pharoah (foaled February 2, 2012) After running poorly on his track debut, he recorded Grade I wins in the Del Mar Futurity and the FrontRunner Stakes and was voted American Champion Two-Year-Old Male Horse in the 2014 Eclipse Awards.

He began his 2015 campaign with wins in the Rebel Stakes and the Arkansas Derby.

Chad Johnson Racehorse Derby

Chad Johnson aka  Chad Ochocinco agreed to do a race against a professional racehorse, for charity purposes…and with a slight start ahead of the horse, he easily dominated the race and won.

Kentucky Derby News and Trivia

Kentucky Derby Bans Selfie-Sticks and Drones

Kentucky Derby Bans Selfie-Sticks and Drones

Kentuck Derby Bans Selfie Sticks

For all of those planning to attend the Kentucky Derby next month there’s one thing all you hat diva’s need to know.  There will be no selfie sticks.  Therefore if your planning to share your perfect Derby moments on social media…you’ll need a steady hand because selfie sticks aren’t allowed.

Representatives for Church Hill Downs have announced that the use of these devices  are prohibited.  Those who attempt to bring one inside the venue will be ask to throw it in the trash.

According to  reports…the decision was made  in the best interest of both the fans and the horses.

The good news is….if you have a iPhone or iPad and you refuse to dump your selfie stick …you can remain outside the gates and access  the Kentucky Derby mobile app which allows users to access many great interactive features on their mobile device.

These features include:

  • Event Lineup: View the list of exciting entertainment events and races beginning on Opening Night through the end of the year, build your own personal event “schedule” with one touch, and purchase tickets for each event directly from your mobile. 
  • Horses: Read about the Kentucky Oaks and Derby horses, view slideshows of these athletes in action, and start picking your favorites! 

California Chrome Wins the Preakness

California Chrome Wins the Preakness Stakes

America’s horse “California Chrome” two down one to go!  Talk about a Cinderella story….California Chrome wins the 2014 Preakness Stakes!

Preakness Stakes Trivia

When is the Preakness run?
  • The third Saturday in May
    . The Preakness is held two weeks after the Kentucky Derby, which is always run on the first Saturday in May. The Preakness, therefore, is always run on the third Saturday in May.


Since 1925, the Preakness has been run at what distance?
  • 1-3/16 mile
    . Before 1925, the Preakness had no fixed distance, varying from 1 mile to 1-1/2 mile. Since 1925, the Preakness has always been run at the relatively unusual distance of 1-3/16 miles, shorter than the Kentucky Derby and the Belmont.


The Preakness is run at which racetrack?
  • Pimlico
    . The Preakness is run at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland. However in 1890, and then again from 1894-1908, it was run in New York. All other Preaknesses have been held at Pimlico.


The Preakness was first run in what year?
  • 1873
    . Pimlico opened in 1870 and hosted the Preakness during its first spring meet in 1873.


Which horse won the first running of the Preakness?
  • Survivor
    . Survivor won the inaugural Preakness in 1873. Culpepper won in 1874 and Shirley won in 1876. The colt Preakness won the first stakes ever run at Pimlico, on Pimlico’s opening day in 1870.


A replica of what trophy, considered the most valuable in all of sports, is presented to the winning owner?
  • Woodlawn Vase
    . The Woodlawn Vase, originally created by Tiffany and Company in 1860, was assessed in 1983 for a lot of money. The smaller replica trophies that are given to the winning owners are valued at a much less.


Who was the first horse to win the Preakness twice?
  • No horse has won the Preakness twice
    . The Preakness, run once per year, is a race restricted to 3-year olds. Therefore, no horse has ever raced twice in the Preakness much less win it twice.


All colts and geldings (male) in the Preakness carry 126 pounds, including the jockey. How many pounds do fillies (female) carry?
  • 121
    . Because fillies are at a physical disadvantage to colts and geldings, they are allowed to carry 5 less pounds than the males. Four fillies have won the Preakness, but none since Nellie Morse in 1924.


Who was the first jockey to win 3 consecutive Preaknesses?
  • Pat Day
    . Pat Day won the Preakness consecutively from 1994-1996 on Tabasco Cat, Timber Country, and Louis Quatorze. Eddie Arcaro won 3 Preaknesses in the 4 years from 1948-1951. Bill Hartack won 3 non-consecutive Preakness in 1956, 1964, and 1969.


The winner of the Preakness receives a blanket made of what flower?
  • Daisy
    . The winning horse receives a blanket of daisies that are painted to look like Black-Eyed Susans, Maryland’s state flower. Because the Preakness is held in May, and because Black-Eyed Susans do not bloom in Maryland until June, daisies are used as a reasonably close look-alike substitute.


 Preakness Stakes Related Archives

Kentucky Derby Trivia

The Preakness

Oxbow Preakness Stakes Winner 2013

2009 Preakness Rachel Alexandra Filly Wins


Read more:♦Who won the Preakness in 2008?♦2009 Preakness Contenders♦General Quarters A Cinderella Story